YSSC 2020 - Youth Standing Strong Together Summer Camp

(Monday, Jun 29, 2020, 10:00 AM EDT to Friday, Jul 10, 2020, 7:00 PM EDT - Registration Closed)

We are now offering registration to Youth Tellers and applications for Mentors and Hosts.

Who can be a Youth Teller? Any rising first grader to a rising senior in high school can participate. If you have an interest in storytelling, or just want to get better at talking to groups of people, or organizing your ideas into the form of a story, we are the camp for you!

Who can be a Mentor? Any experienced storyteller who has worked with youth. A storyteller who wants to work with youth on a one-to-one basis, helping them to find their voice and validate their point of view.

Who can be a Host? Any storyteller who wants to learn more about mentoring Youth Tellers, who can also organize and invite participants to a ZOOM event.

How is the camp structured? Each mentor will be matched with an individual student to form a teaching relationship throughout the week. You will keep your student for the entire session.

Each host will be responsible for issuing out the invitation to attend the ZOOM session for the session the Host is attached to during the week. The Host will be the time keeper for each session and will serve as point of contact for parents and Youth Tellers should issues arise.

Each session will have one host, and up to four mentors and four youth tellers.

There will be two one-week intensives. Mentors and hosts can sign up to teach for one or for two weeks.

Week One: Monday June 29 - Friday July 3

Week Two: Monday July 06 - Friday July 10

Each week contains three sessions per day. Each youth teller/mentor/host signs up for one session for the entire week. Each Session will have one Meeting per day, for an hour and a half (90 minutes), for all five days of the week, at the same time each day. There will be three time-slots offered to accommodate different schedules. Each mentor will teach in one time-slot only. Times listed below cover the zones for the continental Americas but tellers from any country are most welcome.

Morning Session: 10:00-11:30 am EDT/ 9:00-10:30 am CDT/ 8:00-9:30 am MDT/ 7:00-8:30 am PDT

Afternoon Session: 2:00-3:30 pm EDT/ 1:00-2:30 pm CDT/ 12:00-1:30 pm MDT/ 11:00 am-12:30 pm PDT

Evening Session: 7:00-8:30 pm EDT/ 6:00-7:30 pm CDT/ 5:00-6:30 pm MDT/ 4:00-5:30 pm PDT

Camp Sessions will be Monday-Thursday. Friday will be held for an optional presentation of learning, to be decided by the mentors and mentees of that session.

©2020 by ASST, Inc.

Top
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon