Youth Standing Strong Camp -

Storytelling, Mentoring, Connecting

this Winter Break

Monday, December 28 - Thursday, December 31, 2020

  • 90-minute group camp sessions & 1:1 mentor time Monday - Wednesday

  • all camp culminating celebration on Thursday

start times from 10:00AM EST to 7:00PM EST to accommodate our on-line global community

We are now offering registration to Youth Tellers and applications for Mentors and Hosts.

Who can be a Youth Teller? Any first grader to a senior in high school can participate. If you have an interest in storytelling, or just want to get better at talking to groups of people, or want to learn to organize your ideas into the form of a story, we are the camp for you!  The charge is $110. Artists Standing Strong Together (ASST) is committed to having any interested youth attend the storytelling winter camp. If there is financial hardship, please contact Sue Kessler, artistsstandingstrongtogether@gmail.com, to discuss options.

Who can be a Mentor? Any experienced storyteller who has worked with youth. A storyteller who wants to work with youth on a one-to-one basis, helping them to find their voice and validate their point of view. Mentors receive a stipend of $100.

Who can be a Host? Any storyteller who wants to learn more about mentoring Youth Tellers, who can also organize and invite participants to a Zoom event. Hosts receive a $50 stipend.

How is the camp structured? Each Mentor will be matched with a Youth Teller to form a teaching relationship throughout the week. The host is responsible for sending Zoom invitations to Mentors and Youth Tellers, and serves as the time keeper for each session as well as the primary point of contact for parents and Youth Tellers. 

Each session will have one host, and up to four mentors and four youth tellers.

Monday, December 28 - Thursday, December 31

Three days of small group and one-to-one mentoring (December 28 - 30), with a culminating celebration of the final day (December 31).

The first three days consist of three sessions per day. Each youth teller/mentor/host signs up for one session for the entire block. Each session will have one meeting per day, for an hour and a half (90 minutes) at the same time each day. There will be three time slots offered to accommodate different schedules. Each mentor will teach in one time slot only. Times listed below cover the zones for the continental Americas but tellers from any country are most welcome.

 

Morning Session: 10:00-11:30 am EST/ 9:00-10:30 am CST/ 8:00-9:30 am MST/7:00-8:30 am PST
Afternoon Session: 2:00-3:30 pm EST/ 1:00-2:30 pm CST/ 12:00-1:30 pm MST/ 11:00 am-12:30 pm PST
Evening Session: 7:00-8:30 pm EST/ 6:00-7:30 pm CST/ 5:00-6:30 pm MST/4:00-5:30 pm PST

REGISTRATION for YOUTH TELLERS NOW OPEN!

NOW ACCEPTING APPLICATIONS for MENTORS & HOSTS!

QUESTIONS, THOUGHTS, IDEAS?

Email YSSC Director Andrea Kamens here! 

©2020 by ASST, Inc.

Top
  • Facebook
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon